You realize people see the shit you post?

My Favorite Song(s)
5 min readDec 30, 2020

--

Yes, dude, I’m privy to the fact that the things I share on my public profile are, in fact, public.

Did I have to use the word “privy” there? No.

Does it make me seem cool while also coming off like a douchebag? 100%

If you hear someone say, “I don’t care if anyone sees what I post,” you can be confident that person is lying through their teeth.

If you genuinely didn’t care about people seeing what you post, you would have a private account with zero followers and never tell anyone about it. Or no account at all.

If you’re an artist who paints only for themselves, you’d have a secret gallery in your basement that no one knew existed except the blind people you let come in for occasional walkthroughs.

What I’m trying to get at here is that everyone wants some validation. And there’s nothing wrong with that. I don’t take dozens of mirror selfies every time I look good and only post one here and there on my story because I don’t want anyone to see it. I want to stunt on my guy friends to let them know I got more style than them. I want girls I like to see them and (hopefully) be like, “Damn, that’s a good selfie. Maybe I should slide in his DMs.” And I want girls who I like who didn’t like me back to think, “Man, I fucked up, he’s looking good.”

(So if anyone reading this has been thinking about shooting their shot with me, please go for it. Just try to be somewhat obvious because if you talk like we’re just friends, I will 100% not notice you like me and carry on with a great conversation while remaining clueless to your intentions.)

It’s perfectly natural to want validation. We’re all silly humans, after all.

And if you follow someone you claim to dislike or think is stupid, yet you always find the time to share their content with a friend to talk shit about them, then you probably have some unresolved feelings towards that person yourself. They don’t live rent-free in your head for no reason.

I know this to be true because I do it too.

Again, that’s just the way humans are.

We’ve made a society that’s ultra-connected, always-on, exceedingly social, and constantly yearning for the spotlight. That’s how we get rewarded nowadays, and that isn’t going to change anytime soon. So if you take away anything from 2020, I would say this: fucking breathe 😤

People are going to be jealous. People are going to showoff. People are going to be stupid. That one girl who posts slutty pictures and talks about sex will continue wondering why everyone saves her posts and shares them (it’s because you look fucking good and guys are getting off on what you say, isn’t that what you wanted?).

Again, there is absolutely nothing wrong with what.

There are many more important things to get worked up over that weren’t anything mentioned above.

Get upset at racism. Get upset at homophobia. Get upset at xenophobia and ignorance. Get upset a people cloaking these things as “dark humor” and then crying when they get called out on it. As I’ve said in many real-life conversations, you’re probably just not funny if that’s what you have to resort to.

Get upset at how the government uses your money to cozy up to corporate interests while forcing families to choose between paying rent or putting food on the table. Get upset at the people who claim everything is ok because they read an article by some dude who wears a suit 340 days a year and graduated from Yale that unemployment is 6% but have never known what it’s like to go to sleep hungry or without a roof over their heads (I’m privileged never to have experienced either).

And when you feel the soul-crushing weight of the world on your shoulders because you’ve realized how fucked everything is that you don’t know where to start making changes, but your one buddy shared a Gary V video about working 36 hours a day selling shit you found in the dumpster through Shein to pay your bills because he claims being poor is a mentality….

Take a deep breath, and let it go 🧘🏽

Find the things in life that bring you happiness. The people you love and that love you back. Take a moment to reach out to them and let them know how important they are to you. Do it every single day if you want. But stop fucking thinking about it, and just do it.

When you’re walking down the street, and you see a beautiful flower, stop for a second and take it in. Be like, “Yo, that’s a fucking beautiful flower. Life is incredible, isn’t it?” Snap a picture. And keep going. And if you want to edit that picture 500 different ways and post it on your story. Fucking do that too.

Life’s too short to be filled with hate. Life’s too short to spend time interacting with people who bring out the worst in you. Life’s too short to spend 10 minutes debating whether you should post a picture with someone because that will give them the idea you like them more than you actually do, and you want to keep them in their place.

Leave the group chat.

Post the picture.

Like that other picture as well.

Like every single picture in someone’s profile if that’s how you feel (don’t do it just thinking it will get their attention, that can be creepy). And if someone is like, “Yo, dawg, why do you like all of her pictures? That’s a little weird, isn’t it?”

No motherfucker, she posts them, they come up on my timeline, and I think they look cool, so I’m going to like them. And that’s that.

Life is precious. Every single living thing is precious. I want you to treat yourself and everyone else that way.

Except for racists, and homophobes, and transphobes, and nazis, and white supremacists and people that thinks it’s ok to block $2000 checks when people are going hungry and presidents who hold off on signing important bills to create drama when thousands of people are days away from getting evicted from their homes.

Fuck all those people.

All the others, though, Precious.

I made this playlist for you. And it’s on all the streaming platforms so no more excuses ( you know who you are). The last one I’m going to make for a while. It’s deep and it’s sad, but also happy and inspiring. And it’s never long enough.

But that’s just life.

Always remember that I love you, and that’s what drives me to share these ramblings.

In the words of Matt Damon from the most important movie franchise of all time:

everything is everything .23

--

--