No such thing as too many favorite songs

My Favorite Song(s)
2 min readJan 25, 2018

--

So, what exactly is this about?

It’s a simple idea: I’m always excited to share the music I love with my friends. The purpose is to get others to experience the same ecstatic feeling I get when listening. The “aha!” moment occurred one day in the car when I was about to play one of my “favorite songs,” and my friend replied with, “David, every single song in your music library is your favorite song.”

My reaction:

While trying to pinpoint the reason behind why I have so many favorite songs I realized songs are like scents, they help trigger memories. I classify so many songs as “my favorite” because I have a unique connection with each one.

When I hear a particular song I get transported to the moment I fell in love with it in the first place.

Maybe it’s where I was when I heard it, what I was doing, how I was feeling, or even who I was with at the time. Perhaps it’s a combination of all those factors.

Or maybe I just love the beat and lyrics so much they make me jump around for joy (I tend to do that, jump for joy).

The point is there are endless reasons for connecting with a particular piece of music, or any art for that matter. In this case, the music helps you learn a little bit more about me.

So, you’ve been warned: If you decide to embark on this journey with me get ready to learn more about me than you ever thought possible

(I think. I hope. Honestly, if you think I’m weird and all you do is learn new songs you’d never heard before then that’s good enough for me. Yes, it WAS necessary to put these sentences in parentheses because I’m just rambling at this point.)

--

--