Do you ever yell LIL BOAT! during sex

My Favorite Song(s)
3 min readAug 2, 2020

--

look at this water man, look at these trees, man life is good man

Good Day — Lil Yachty feat. Skippa Da Flippa (Lil’ Boat)

Is Lil’ Yachty the only one who still cares about cover art? Seriously, I’m not just quoting that line from Chance the Rapper’s ‘Mixtape’ song with Yachty and Young Thug. Seriously, this dude does care a lot about cover art, and it shows in the work he puts out. He’s got some of the most visually attractive album, mixtape and song cover art in all of music. If it weren’t for the Lil’ Boat cover, I never would’ve paid attention to this guy. That’s the only reason I pressed play. I thought it looked cool.

I’ll admit, when I first heard the mixtape, I wasn’t impressed at all. Disclaimer: I need to listen to any music project at least five times before I can pay attention to both the beats and lyrics. Anyone who tells me they can listen to an album once and already has a solid grasp of every track is a fucking liar, in my opinion. So, I pop in the Lil’ Boat mixtape (LIL BOAT), and obviously, I’m blasting the remix to Minnesota because it’s a great song (shout out to lawyer Pat). If you know me, you know I’ve been screaming JUST KEEP SWIMMING! JUST KEEP SWIMMING! since the intro started. But then, it happens. The beat for ‘Good Day’ comes on, and I can’t help but feel my lips shaping into an animated-Grinch level smile.

You can feel it in your skin. Some shit is about to go down. And I. Was. Hooked. The 4th time I listened to the song. Is Yachty dropping some super intense deep lyrics that have me questioning my existence? No. He’s 18 years old and just dropped out of college. He’s interested in a few specific things: girls & money. That’s fine with me. I love those things as well. All he does in this song is sing about how happy he is he’s having a great day and that the little things are going his way. A lot of people might hate me for this, but I consider this the 2016 mumble rap version of Ice Cube’s ‘It Was A Good Day.’ Just listen to this, and I dare you to tell me you didn’t bob your head.

Final note: HE DOESN’T DO THIS SONG LIVE. THAT’S AN ACTUAL TRAGEDY. MINNESOTA LIVE IS AN INCREDIBLE EXPERIENCE, AND YET HE DECIDES NOT TO PERFORM GOOD DAY. WHY YACHTY? WHY DID YOU DO THIS TO ME?!?! IT’S GOOD EVEN WITHOUT SKIPPA DA FLIPPA. PLEASE BOAT. One of my NEW missions in life is to get so famous I can personally ask Yachty to perform this song at concerts. That is all.

PS
Lil’ Yachty on TikTok, you’ll thank me later.

Thanks for reading, give me a follow if you enjoyed it and tell me who your favorite rapper is ✌🏽 Listen to all of my favorite songs on Spotify, even the ones I haven’t written about yet, right here: My Favorite Song(s)

--

--