Dapped up a random dude on Miami Beach

My Favorite Song(s)
3 min readFeb 7, 2018

--

Walk Thru — Rich Homie Quan feat. Problem (I Promise I Will Never Stop Going In)

When I first moved to Miami I drove an old used car that didn’t have a CD player. There were only two radio stations I listened to, 99.1 and 103.5. They’re hip-hop stations, and that’s awesome because there were never any straight hip-hop stations in Puerto Rico.

The only problem was, they had a limited catalog. You play what the people want to hear, what brings more listeners. At that time, and any other time since 2009, Drake was dominating the radio waves (to no one’s surprise).

I would spend my limited amount of time in the car listening to Believe Me, Only, and Headlines over and over and over and over. I’m not joking; they played each song at least 15 times a day. Every once in a while they would throw in an old school jam or another popular artist to mix it up. That’s when I discovered Rich Homie Quan.

I worked at a high school with a bunch of ninth graders. I had some pretty lame glasses (I’ve stepped up the style ever since) and had to go to work every day in khaki pants, a white polo, and the all black Rebook Classics your grandpa wears so he doesn’t slip walking in the kitchen. Needless to say, this uniform wasn’t winning me any style points with the kids.

Another very important thing when it comes to working with children, you need to be yourself. You can’t go in there with some fake persona trying to get them to think you’re cool because they will sniff that shit out immediately and you’ll lose their respect forever.

Listening to “Walk Thru” in the car before walking into school every morning gave me just a little more confidence being in the hallways of North Miami Senior High School. Music can do some crazy things to boost your confidence.

Fast forward a couple of months after I discovered the song and school is out for a few days. I was walking through Miami Beach to meet up with some friends and, of course, I had just listened to “Walk Thru” in the car. I’m vibing, singing the song in my head (I thought) when I cross paths with a random dude on the sidewalk, and this is what happened:

Me: Even if I were blind I could still smell money

Random Guy: I can’t trust no outside n***as, they could tell on me

*we lock eyes*

BOTH: I’M THE ALPHABET BOY CAUSE I KEEP AN L ON ME!!

*big ass smiles + dap 2x*

And we both kept walking our separate ways. Thank you for that Rich Homie. Please, don’t ever stop going in.

Thanks for reading, give me a follow if you enjoyed it and tell me who your favorite rapper is ✌🏽 Listen to all of my favorite songs on Spotify, even the ones I haven’t written about yet, right here: My Favorite Song(s)

--

--