Can’t believe Keenan and Kel had beef

My Favorite Song(s)
3 min readJan 31, 2018

--

You know you’re a legend when people use the phrase “Coolio Hair” as in “Check out my SoundCloud page where I have Coolio-Hair-Type-Beats

Fantastic Voyage — Coolio (It Takes aThief)

I feel like a super-mega-tiny-thin-harmless knife is plunged directly into my heart every time someone says they don’t know any Coolio songs besides “Gangstas Paradise.” Don’t get me wrong; I’m not a Coolio encyclopedia over here.

I was watching Keenan & Kel for a couple of years before I realized the random dude with braids in the opening credits was the same guy from the ‘Gangstas Paradise’ music video. And, let’s not get into the fact that Keenan and Kel have ongoing beef where they haven’t spoken to each other in years.

Growing up, never in my wildest dreams did I think something like that could happen. Two best friends from a TV show hating each other?

If you told me that sometime in the future SpongeBob and Patrick would have a huge falling out and Patrick would move out of Bikini Bottom and put his rock up for sale, and some unknown crustacean family would move in and become best friends with Squidward I’d say you were crazy.

Batshit insane.

But, everyone has to grow up at one point or another, just as long as it’s not me.

UPDATE: KEENAN AND KEL SQUASHED THE BEEF! THEY’RE FRIENDS AGAIN! ORANGE SODA FOR EVERYBODY!

Back to Coolio, I have no idea when I first heard this song, but I can tell you it was love at first sight. It’s got that perfect windows-down-sunny-day-blasting-music beat anyone can enjoy.

If you listen to the lyrics extra close, and by extra close I mean actually(italicized) listen to the words and not just bob your head to the beat, you’ll notice Coolio is a pretty smart dude.

The very same guy ignorant parents would classify as a thug with braids they don’t want their kids listening to is trying to teach you something.

He’s got, in my opinion, one of the simplest and smartest hip-hop lines ever recorded.

You don’t understand about runnin’ with a gang
Cuz you don’t gang bang
And you don’t have to stand in the corner and slang
Cause you got your own thing

Ears open people! Life is different for everyone, and some people don’t have any choice but to do things that put their lives in danger on a daily basis to survive.

Now, I’m not here defend every gangbanger or drug dealer out there. All I’m saying is before we judge them we need to take a moment to look at it from their perspective.

It’s easy to get a job when you’re born with the privilege of looking the way society thinks you should, going to the right school, coming from a good neighborhood, or even having the right connections.

If you’re lucky to have these things, never be ashamed of them. All you need to do is be aware that not everyone was as fortunate as you. The majority of people aren’t.

For some people, it’s pretty fucking difficult to find a steady source of income or even a source of income that is enough to support their entire family.

You may think it’s easy to just “work hard and get out of a difficult situation” but until you’ve been in those shoes, lived that life, and truly experienced having to “pick yourself up by your bootstraps” please don’t condemn people who might be living a life you disagree with.

You truly have no idea what led them to that in the first place. Plus, it makes you look like a huge dick.

Remember, you can’t have the hop if you don’t have the hip.

Thanks for reading, give me a follow if you enjoyed it and tell me who your favorite rapper is ✌🏽 Listen to all of my favorite songs on Spotify, even the ones I haven’t written about yet, right here: My Favorite Song(s)

--

--