An Afroman song you’ve never heard

My Favorite Song(s)
2 min readFeb 28, 2018

--

Still weirded out by skinny Afroman.

Sag Your Pants — Afroman (Afroholic…The Even Better Times)

I bet most of you are confused because you didn’t know there are Afroman songs besides “Because I Got High” or “Colt 45.”

It’s okay, I forgive you.

For the longest time, I didn’t know either. I discovered this album while window shopping iTunes one day in middle school. This was a difficult time for free music because Napster had been shut down and other p2p services such as Limewire, Kazaa, or Ares didn’t provide full albums to download.

I didn’t have an iTunes account back then, and my parents weren’t the biggest fans of online shopping, so I had to find another way. I asked an older friend of mine if I could use her iTunes account and pay her back in cash.

She accepted and said I didn’t need to pay her back for a $10 album (I may have taken advantage of her generosity at the time and bought a few more albums). Luckily, this was also how I discovered the Mac Dre “Thizzelle Washington” album. Now, back to Afroman.

I downloaded the “Afroholic: The Even Better Times” album and immediately felt a new connection with Afroman’s music.

He didn’t try to rap like he was the hardest, meanest, richest, or even smoothest guy out there. He just rapped about things he knew and things he enjoyed doing. For a middle schooler, sagging your pants was much more relatable than weed and crazy sex stories.

Looking back, I was probably trying to rebel against my dad because he insisted on telling to me to pull up my pants every five seconds. You could say some things have changed. Now I’m the one telling 9th-grade students to pull their pants up. But, I still love Afroman, and I still bump this song with my windows down.

Thanks for reading, give me a follow if you enjoyed it and tell me who your favorite rapper is ✌🏽 Listen to all of my favorite songs on Spotify, even the ones I haven’t written about yet, right here: My Favorite Song(s)

--

--